The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's argument claims that Grand Symphony is now an established business and by raising its ticket prices, it would gather a huge amount of money which can be helpful in becoming autonomous. Stated, this way the argument reveals several instances or improper reasoning and lacks evidences on the basis of which it can be evaluated. The argument made by authors contains several generalizations and lacks in various statistical data. Hence the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated

First of all the author states that after hiring this international conductor the private contributions have "doubled" and the attendance has also reached new "highs". Here we only know that that the contributions have been doubled and attendance have also increased but we don't know to what extent both the things have increased. For example, it is possible that the private contributions were only 1000 dollars before appointing the conductor and have increased to 2000 dollars after this conductor was appointed. Hence, in such a case we can clearly see that these contributions having though doubled are still nominal. Also we don't know how much the attendance has increased. For example It may be possible that the highest recorded attendance was 100 people at a time which have now increased to 110 people which is not a huge change but a new high. Hence, proper and more concrete statistical evidence is needed.

Also, the author assumes that there won't be any change in the number of people attending the Symphony then it was before after increasing the ticket prices. It is undoubtedly possible that after raising the ticket prices less people attend the Symphony which may even result in lesser profits than the Symphony used to earn before the appointment of its new conductor. Hence such a major factor cannot be readily assumed and also the amount of price increment of a ticket should be mentioned which is also a crucial factor in determining the amount of audience who will attend the show as well the overall profit or loss of the whole outcome.

Moreover, the author considers Grand Symphony an established success without mentioning and considering the number of concerts it has been on higher attendance and profits after appointment of the new conductor. For example, It is possible that only after one or two concerts which were hit the author concluded that Grand Symphony is an established business. Success can be measured only over a long period of time considering many qualities such as consistency of the conductor and consistency of profits gained. It may also be possible that the conductor had contacts with 2 or 3 very great singers which is summoned at Grand Symphony and the concert was highly attended. Hence on just the basis of 2 or 3 concerts which may have been very profitable, the author may have concluded it as an established business which is surely not an assumption which can be condoned.

In sum, the author's argument remains unconvincing as it stands. To bolster the argument better and more concrete statistics and evidences are needed which can perhaps be found by detailed analysis or by carrying surveys. Finally, to assess the argument more information is needed regarding the Grand Symphony.