"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author's argument that Super Screen should allocate a greater amount of budget the following year to make public awareness about the movie they produce because of lack of public knowledge that such quality movies exist is flawed. Stated this way the argument fails to cover several key factors which are necessary for evaluation the argument and reveals several instances of poor reasoning. In this argument ambiguous and vague words have been used which do not exactly define to what extent the public is unaware of the movies they produce. Also various generalizations have been made which flaws the argument. However, careful scrutiny of various evidences in the author's statement gives only little credibility to author's argument. Hence the argument is considered to be unsubstantiated or incomplete.

First of all, the author has used very vague and ambiguous language such as fewer. We exactly don't know how much fewer audience the movie has received. It can be either 5 to 20 people less than the last year which is not a huge issue to be dealt with. Hence if there is minute decrease in the audience then there is no need of increasing advertising cost which will be much more than the profits earned from more 20 people watching the movie. Therefore a clear precise statistical data is needed in order to decide whether there is actually any need of increasing promotional cost. Furthermore, there is also no mention of how much amount of increase occurred of the positive reviews of the movie reviewers. It can be as less as 0.5% or as great as 50%. So determining the movie quality on the basis of increase in positive reviews would not be

feasible.

Also, the author has made generalization that the advertising was targeted in the same areas as the past year. It might be possible that the targets of advertising or the audience they targeted for this movie varies with the previous one , so they may have changed the regions of advertising. Because of which there may be variation in the number of people who watched the movie than the previous year. This all depends on the kind of movie the company is producing. The movie genre helps the company decide what audience to target. After deciding the target audience only they can decide which areas to target. Such crucial data is needed in order to draw conclusions for implementing further decisions.

In conclusion, the argument of author remains unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster the author's argument, the author needs clear,better and more concrete evidences which can perhaps be gathered by detailed analysis or survey of failure of movie having unable to pursue a bigger audience. Finally to assess the argument various necessary information is needed.