Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

The author brings up a controversial issue whether the salary of teachers should be based upon the performance of the students they teach. Indisputably, the teachers play an important role in educating their group of students and to some extent also influence on the students by their particular way of teaching. Nevertheless, total salary of the teachers should not be on the basis of their student's academic skills but should only partially vary on it with a minimum base amount of salary. Also, the basis on which we measure the salary should be fixed and in consensus of every other teacher rather than merely on the grounds of competition among various groups of students.

First of all, if the performance of the students reflect teacher's salary then somehow teachers would try to improve the performance of their pupils compared to either among other such groups of students or previous year's data. Now, if they compete among internal groups they will thrive to get better results among the institution's different groups. In some cases it may be possible that the teacher for its own selfishness of having a greater share of salary would impose some restrictions on students or may replace some of the playing time of children which may fetter the overall development of children and the very own purpose of setting such a scheme will be defeated.

Furthermore, if the comparison is between the previous year's data, then in such cases teacher's have a specified target and will be able to get better results the following year if planned in a proper way. Hence the target should be set before applying such strategy to vary salary on the basis of performance otherwise the overall development of children won't be reflected. Also, the target should not be skyrocketing or possessing very high expectations.It should be achievable by both students and teachers.

On the other hand, if the whole salary of the teacher varies upon the academic performance of the students then the teacher may always be in pressure of giving his/her best which might hinder him in giving his/her best. Because working in an environment imposing pressure will not be good for the institute. Hence I suggest that there should be a fixed base salary of the teachers and partially varying salary according to the performance of the students so that the teachers are relieved of pressure as they already get a fixed base salary rather than a salary which is completely based on students performance.

In sum, I would like to conclude that the author's argument has condoned various conditions which he should have imposed while making this claim such as, fixed base salary and target identification of the teachers of what they should achieve rather than competitive grounds of measuring salary. Hence, there be a balance between fixed and varying salary to get optimum results.