The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument by the author to decrease residential area on the opposite side of the city by considering a situation which occurred 10 years ago is completely flawed. Stated this way, the author's argument lacks proper evidences and also reveals instances of improper reasoning.The argument made by the author generalizes that what was favorable 10 years ago is also favorable today. The argument also uses vague and ambiguous language which makes exactly unclear to what extent the change reflected 10 years ago. Hence careful scrutiny of author's evidences provides only little credible support towards author's argument. Hence we can say that the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author assumes that the condition of city has not at all changed from what it was 10 years ago. It might be possible that in the past 10 years the the city went into a metamorphosis and is now well developed,well-planned and the most of its inhabitants are well settled with their current jobs and living standards. Therefore, if such condition persists, then declining residential area on the opposite side of city would lessen the living standards of the city than which the people are accustomed to and hence no one would prefer to live in such an area. Furthermore, there is no sureness that if the residential areas would be less, then factories would be built in that area. Hence, if there will less attraction towards that area also the tax revenues of that area won't increase.

Furthermore, the author also mentions ambiguous and vague words in his argument such as increased property taxes. We know that the property taxes increased but exactly how much? Did it increase only 0.02% or by 5%? The author fails to provide such statistical data. Moreover, The arguer also does not mention the taxes of different regions. So we don't exactly know that the increase in taxes was due to the increases by other regions or it was the impact of change of the region in which residential areas were declined.

Also, the arguer also does not consider what will the condition of city if more industries would be built along the ample of industries preexisting within the city. It would surely deteriorate the quality of living of the citizens. Furthermore, there is also the possibility that the land is fertile which can be used for cultivation, building schools etc.

The arguer also mentions the decrease in crime rates which is the result of urban renewal is completely baseless. It may be possible that the denizens became more aware of their surroundings or more amount was spent on security rather than living. Or they might have become more vigilant.

In sum, the author's argument remains unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster the argument further better and more concrete evidences are needed which can perhaps be found by detailed analysis or surveys of the project implemented 10 years ago along with the current condition of the city. Finally, to assess the argument further information is needed.