formal education tends to restrain student's mind and spirits rather than set them free

This topic raises a controversial issue whether formal education tends to restrain student's mind and wither spirits rather than set them free. Indisputably, Formal Education plays an important role in shaping mindset of the pupils. Nevertheless, whether formal education restrains the mindset and spirits of students depends on various factors such what type of Educational Institute they are enrolled in, what type of curriculum the institute follows and how well documented and defined is the curriculum i.e. what was the mission and vision of the people who set the curriculum.Thus, I generally disagree with the arguments that formal education tend to fetter minds and spirits of the students as it is too broadly assumed without consideration of various factors and shape-shifters involved in it.

Firstly, it depends on what type of educational institution it is. To illustrate let us have an example of Indian Engineering Universities which although have a well documented grading system often discouraged by students and international authorities. This Indian Engineering Colleges follow Semester Systems which includes continuous evaluation of students on a daily basis along with ample of projects, assignments and their deadlines approaching one after another. Therefore in such Institutions a student cannot pursue his/her interest in sports or any other field and is restrained to only completing college assignments and projects in a competitive environment where grading systems such as relative grading are used so that students focus more on studying than any other activities. Because of such incompetent system followed by Indian Engineering college only 1 university IIT BOMBAY is in top 100 list of the entire world.

Furthermore, for educational institutions such as school let us exemplify with the following case: The educational system of Finland for children is well appreciated due to its well documented system of teaching and grading. The schools in Finland never impose any kind of burden on their students for example there is a strict no homework rule for schools in Finland. Such type of schools help in developing overall mindset and morale of children and make them grow as better individuals. Because of this the educational system of Finland is ranked 1st all over the world.

In conclusion, I feel that the argument is too broad without taking in account various cases and circumstances under which students go through and what was the mission and vision of the legislatures of the educational system while documenting it.