"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

The author's explanation that Panoply's safety record is because of its smaller work shifts compared to their own company is completely flawed. Stated this way, the author lacks evidences necessary for properly evaluating the issue and also mentions several instances of improper and ill-logical reasoning. The argument assumes methodology used by their industry as well as the Panolpy Industry is similar. Also the author fails to mention proper statistics related to the report. Further scrutiny of author's report provides little credible support to the author's stance. Hence, the argument is incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, The author assumes that the methodology implemented by Panolpy industries is same as their own industry. It may be possible that even though they produce similar products the methodology implemented might be different. For example, if both the industries produce cloth then it might be possible that Panolpy produces expensive hand-made cloth while the other industry produces inexpensive machine made cloth. In such a case obviously there will be very less or almost no accident possibility in the Panolply industry but there will exist a greater chance of accidents in our industry where workers deal with machines rather than making hand-made products. Hence, such a comparison can be flawed easily and is not at all feasible.

Moreover, the author does not provide the exact statistics needed to determine the difference in the amount of accidents occurred in the two industries. The author only states that 30% more accidents are identified in his industry compared to Panolpy industry. However, this 30% can be even just 5 or 7 accidents or it can be as huge as 100 to 200 accidents that is it depends on the number of workers employed by both the industries. It might be possible that the following year 5 more accidents occur in the Panolpy industries. Because of its unpredictability a few less harmful accidents can be accepted compared to the amount of loss incurred by reducing 1 hour shift of work of the employees. Hence proper statistics are needed to make properly assess the report.

Also, the author assumes that by decreasing 1 hour of work shift the employees necessarily will rest and be more productive. There is a high chance of these employees stumbling upon a part time job which provides them salary on hourly basis because such class of people always have an insatiable appetite of earning as much as more money possible. In such case the employees would be more deprived of sleep and would result in more amount of accidents that already occurring.

In conclusion, I would like to state that the author fails to mention several facts about methodology implemented, statistics and assumes that the employees would properly rest if granted them extra hour everyday which may result in lower accident numbers. Finally, to better asses the argument more information is needed.