These days, people enjoy a lot of time away from their work and school obligations. Many people use this time to visit new places and learn about them. What do you think is the best way to learn about a place you are visiting for the first time?

Going to a museum

Joining a guided tour of popular attractions

Visiting a popular shopping area

Spending time away from the work and responsibilities at foreign locations are one of the best times people enjoy in a year which help them to relieve their stress get them prepared for the next challenges they face. Personally, I believe that individuals should prefer a proper instructive tour covering the most attractive spots of that place which may help them better to understand more about the place they have visited. I feel this for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, for whatever things a place is appreciated or well-known are completely covered in the tourist guides. All the places, things, food, etcetera for what a place is known for is covered in great detail along with the timings, locations and many other precise details. Any place becomes famous or popular because of the sum total effect of the famous attractions of that area. Therefore, in order to learn everything about a foreign area It is always advisable to participate in the guided tours provided by the local tourist companies of that place itself. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About 2 years ago, I went on a business trip with my father in a city named Ahmedabad. We had one day left of our trip in which I and my father both wanted to learn more about Ahmedabad. So, we enrolled ourselves in a local tour of the city, The guide took us to several places in the city which we never heard of before. It was a very satishfying experience and by the end of the tour I had known much about Ahmedabad.

Secondly, joining guided tours is a lot cheaper than only shopping or travelling individually. Out of state travellers are easily exploited by the locals by demanding more money than the actual cost in many areas such as shopping, travelling fares and many more. Although if we have a tour guide instead, he will make sure that we pay just the fair amount for the goods we purchase and the services which we use. Moreover, many tour guides have contacts with the hotel owners which can help the travellers to strike a deal at a lower price than the usual. For example, My brother went to Mumbai for enjoying his holidays. There he stayed in a hotel for 3 days which accounted for a bill of 15,000 Rupees. Next year in the same month I also went to Mumbai and lived in the same hotel, but took a guided tour of Mumbai. The guide was able to arrange a deal at a price of 12,000 rupees for three days. Hence, there are various benefits of having enrolled in a guided tour.

To sum up, I would like to conclude that Guided tours should be preferred by individuals because of the enormous amount of benefits and the proper learning it provides about that place.