These days, people enjoy a lot of time away from their work and school obligations. Many people use this time to visit new places and learn about them. What do you think is the best way to learn about a place you are visiting for the first time?

Having extra time to visit new places, as we all know, for the majority of people, regarding social stratification, is considered as an achievement of the industrial revolution. Due to its paramount importance, efforts for evaluating its effectiveness have always been among the top priorities of sociologists. In this regard, many people support this opinion that the best way to learn about a place when a person visits it for the first time is local tour guides. Similarly to common belief, I believe that besides the local guides, the websites would be crucial as well. I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that use websites have noticeable effects on the familiarity of a person about a place is widespread using the internet all around the world. Undoubtedly, people, even in isolated and distant countries, have much more access to the internet than individuals have in the past. So, evidently, using the website for getting information has become more popular. To illustrate, the public, fortunately, does not look at social media as a hobby; rather, they seize this opportunity to gain information in every aspect they interested in, like travel to the specific destination. Scientifically speaking, many people who come to the identified place for the first time, use the websites that belong to the place. Although many critics may challenge this idea and debate that these websites can be decisive, the public points of view toward these media show different attitudes.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is the positive role of local tour guides on the familiarity one can gain from a place. Needless to say, for the majority of people, the best informative person in every destination is who lives in a certain area as residents. Moreover, they believe that a resident as a tour guide can bring the legends and stories which are common among natives and provide positive effects about the area on the travelers. What would happen if the guide was a nonresident, a commuter who just worked in a specific place for his or her job? The amount of information a local guide can provide or the influence of a location on passengers will reduce. Take my personal experience as an example. A couple of years ago, when I was a little younger than now, I used to travel a lot. Once, one of the friends of mine proposed me to go to the place that I have never seen before, and she tried to hire a local guide for the whole trip. The result was amazing. I earn a lot of information in comparison with the time I had traveled with my own information to a place. In addition, based on the sagas I had heard, I became enthusiastic to know more about that place. Therefore, not only the information but also the excitement a local guide can convey will convince the passengers in the future to travel to the place even for the second time.

To summarize, contemplating all remarks, we can safely conclude that both local guides help and websites are the two of the best ways to get familiar with the place.