Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Television and movies, as we all know, play a dominant role in the majority of people`s life. Although it may seem exaggerated, at first sight, one may find this contention sensible. In this regard, many people support this opinion that the adverse effects of movies and television are far more than their positive ones. Contrary to common belief, I believe that the merits of TV and film outweigh its demerits. I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

The first reason that makes me hold this belief is the power of TV as a means of conveying the culture. Undoubtedly, the basis which communities based on and differed from each other is culture. Moreover, it received from our previous generations. However, sometimes, considering the modern era, some situations required a government to build a culture or change it, and which tool is more favorable than television or movies? For instance, in my country, because many gasoline resources exist and the price of it was noticeably low, people pay no attention to the way of the gasoline they use. A couple of years ago, the government, by using a TV show, started a program that taught people how should they considered gasoline as a scarce and precious source; also taught how to use it efficiently. After some years, the government declares that through building the culture of efficient use of gasoline, they can save a large amount of it, surprisingly. So, TV and movies can use as means of conveying, removing, or building a culture.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is the power of television and films in nurturing imagination. Although critics challenge this idea and suggest that these media deceive people, many individuals believe that film can move them to the imaginary world and show mythical parts. Based on an experiment which had done about the effects of movies, about which I have read an article, results showed that many people acclaim that through films they have ever watched, they can improve their imagination ability and use it in their work. For example, authors among the sample positively considered films as an incentive to their job that helps them to make their plot for their writings.

To summarize, contemplating all remarks, we can safely conclude that television and movies are favorable tools both for culture and for the imagination ability, which are beneficial for society as a whole.