Consider a situation where you are asked by your supervisor to work with one of your co-workers on a project. This co-worker has opinions that are very different than yours and they feel very strongly about these opinions. Do you think this is a good idea? Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

workgroups, as we all know, for the majority of people, is the most important achievement of human beings up to now. Due to its paramount effect, efforts for elevating its effectiveness have always been among the top priority of sociologists. In this regard, many people believe that the advantage of working in the groups outweigh its disadvantageous. Similarly to common belief, I believe that working with even co-workers who have different ideas is beneficial both for people in the group and for the purpose they seek. I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that having co-workers is favorable is related to human nature. Undoubtedly, humans are born with an instinct to be in a group, having teams by providing a community, will fulfill this need. To illustrate, these days, people do not look at their job as a task; rather, they look at them as a purpose that should be done in the best way. Therefore, having a group that people are gathered in it to do the same job will enable people to understand different viewpoints toward the issue and balance their own perspective. Take my personal experience as an example. A couple of years ago, when I was younger than now, I participated in a group. Unfortunately, all points of view were different from me, but when I listen to their reasons and their explanations, I understand my notion was almost incorrect, and I should polish it. So, different ideas were useful in somehow.

Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is the same purpose among all group members. In fact, it is impossible that people in the same group totally have the same ideas about one issue. Moreover, having consensus seems complicated at first sight. While even among various ideas, the purpose is unique, and all group members seek the same goal. Therefore, by negotiating and consulting, people can find a way that everybody has an agreement on it. Scientifically peaking, groups that negatively communicate with each other collapse three times sooner than groups, which have some consensus on the ways they try to fulfill the aim. Even though many critics challenge this idea and debate that people with the same ideas should create groups, the results of groups that have members who think differently show the other side. What would happen if group members chose different ways to get the same purpose? Indeed, constructive conflicts bring numerous advantages, such as gaining the goal through creative ways.

To summarize, contemplating all remarks, we can safely conclude that co-workers with different ideas not only are beneficial for balancing the ideas but also they are advantageous for innovatively achieving the purposes of the group.