These days, people enjoy a lot of time away from their work and school obligations. Many people use this time to visit new places and learn about them. What do you think is the best way to learn about a place you are visiting for the first time?

Going to a museum

Joining a guided tour of popular attractions

Visiting a popular shopping area

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Trip to new places is a way people unwind themselves from their busy schedules. In my opinion, taking a guided tour of the popular attractions of a city is the best way to know about a new place. I feel this way for two reasons which I will elaborate on this following essay.

To begin with, a guided tour of famous attractions of the city will provide knowledge of the different tourist spots of the city. The history of the city will be evident from these popular attractions and also the guide can provide information regarding how these attractions came into place and the historical importance of these attractions will further reveal more facets of the city. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I had been a student of middle school when I had visited the city of Agra. The popular attractions of this city are the historical monuments. The guided tour that we took gave us a lot of information regarding the history of the city.

Secondly, popular attractions do not only provide knowledge of the tourist spots but also help us to know about the culture of the city. As these attractions are visited by people all over the city, we get a first hand experience of the culture of the city by observing these people. The importance of these attractions to the people in the city in current days also unveil their preference and the role of these attractions in their life. As a result, the culture of the city becomes more evident to the tourists through these attractions. For instance, when I visited my brother who lives in the city of Hyderabad last year, we took a guided tour of the famous Charminar. Charminar is a historical monument with lots of shops around it and it is always bustling with people. It revealed to us how the people of the city loves to visit Charminar because of the food and the jewelry that is sold nearby. We also noticed how the people who visited Charminar mostly wore necklace of pearls, hence we deduced pearl is popular form of jewelry here.

In conclusion, the best way to learn about a place is to take a tour of popular attraction with the help of a guide. This is because it provides information regarding the different tourist spots and it also reveals the culture of the city.