The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products

It is true that workers on prolonged shifts tends to underperform and have worse attention on the tasks, which potentially leads to work related accidents. Nonetheless, there are many other reasons that could contribute to increased amount of accidents as well. For example, insufficient trainings before the job, lack of intermediate breaks, lack of safety procedures and protection equipments can all increase the amount of on-the-job accidents.

As the paragraph suggested, the factory was newly opened. Therefore, it is highly plausible that the workers of the factory have not had significant experiences of the job they are performing yet. In the case of shorting in experiences, if the factory has not done extensive pre-working training, workers can not foresee potential danger and are more likely to misperform and have accidents. Well trained workers and workers with extensive experiences tends to know the danger involved in certain tasks they are performing and thus will pay more attention to prevent accidents from happening. The knowledge of potential hazard can only be attained by proper training or experiences.

Another possibility is that the new factory does not have sufficient breaks in the working hour. For a normal 8 hour working day, it is extremely hard for humans to have a continuous 8 hour of high quality concentration even with sufficient rest and sleep during non-working hours. It is not likely for workers to work that long hours that they suffer sleep deprivation since normal sleeping length is only one third of a day. On the other hand, short intermittent breaks significantly increase working efficiency because breaks decrease fatigue. In addition, workers can focus better after the breaks. A better concentration could also leads to less accidents as the workers are more attentive to their tasks.

Finally, as a newly opened factory, it is also possible that proper safety procedures have not been fully developed at the moment and necessary protection equipments have not been putting on the spot. In the end, one can avoid accidents but one cannot fully prevent accidents from happening as human does not have control over the nature. In every university chemistry labs, proper eye washing and shower stands are available at a very convenient place. Even if the accidents have taken place, for example, a bottle of strong acid spilled over, the person involved in the accidents can still run to the closest eye washing stand and wash off any acid reached to skin. In that case, even accidents happened, it does not cause any harm to workers' health and all needed is cleaning up the mess and a small lost from the accident.

The vice president has a good reasoning for higher percentage of on-the-job accidents but he should consider more alternative explanations that are equally possible for the result.