Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

It is indeed crucial for governments to emphasis on the immediate problems that a country is facing for obvious reasons. However, here I argue that it is equally important for the government to solve anticipated problems of the future or even to prevent problems from occuring, in order to have a stable and sustainable development. While solving current issues of the society, governments should not ignore the potential hazardous consequences that any actions might bring in the future.

Some future problems of a country are seeded long before it shows and can cause detrimental effects to the country . These problems needs immediate attention and action before it even starts to develop. China's population crisis is one of them. After the civil war of China, chairman Mao ecouraged people to have more babies in order to recover the population lost in the war. The results has been more than successful that China now is overpopulated. Over population could leads to lack of resources for everyone, extreme competition between jobs and unstable society. With limitaion of the agricultural land in a country, over population potentially leads to starvation of some people. Overpopulation also can deterioate exponentially as people are furtile from 20s to 40s but normal human life span can reach to 90s. Within one person's life span, if the existing population still wants to have kids for each family, the amount of people multiplies. However, the counsequence of overpopulaiton does not shown after decades. Once it shows, it is disasterous and had to control by the time. Same principle applys for continueing population grow to prevent aging society, which also leads to lack of workforce which can have extremely negative effects on economics of a nation as well as social welfare.

When solving immediate problems, governments must not take solutions that will bring negative consequences in the future. For example, the current Brazil president want to improve economics and help farmers to gain more land. He decreased the budget for environmental protection which leads to increased activities in illigal deforesting. The Amazon forest endured the biggest rate of deforesting and a collosal forest fire. While destroying the forest will indeed create more farmland and enable famers to have a larger short-term economic boost, the long-term consequence is increased rates of global warming. Global warming might be a more expansive issue to solve compare to the economic gain by deforesting. Global warming also is a consequence that the whole planet will have to face as it creates a unstable environment for human to live in. In the end, deforesting solved the current issue but brings us a more detrimental consequence that human can't afford.

Therefore, I insist that government should treat both immediate and futrue problems seriously and do not compromise on nations' future. Any solutions for the current issues should not be based on detrimental future consequences. In the end, a sustainable development brings the most of the benefits.