People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our reactions often give way to understanding our behaviour and it is said that our reactions reflect who we are. But it is possible even if the decisions are ours, the circumstances facilitating these decisions and resultant behaviours are not controlled by us.

Human behaviour is conditioned by myriad factors. Some behaviours are evolutionary and develop over a period of time like survival of the fittest while some instantaneous and are biological like fight and flight. Human behaviour is largely conditioned by his or her social environment and the interactions he/ she has with it. For example, the collective behaviour of voters in an election. Now, these behaviours even if controlled by an individual on the fundamental level, the collective, resultant behaviour is engendered through the prevailing social and political conditions.

In all the above cases, it can be argued that behaviours exhibited were an outcome of rational nature of human beings. However, many studies like ones by Daniel Khanman and Amos Tversky show that rationality and instincts work together to nuture a persons behaviour and decisions both at individual and collective levels. Elaborating the previous example of elections, one can see the trend of right-wing leaders getting elected to power across the globe. Now, these sentiments are not always present and can be manufactured through economical, social and political forces. It is pretty much the same way any advertising campaign works, compelling buyers to change their mind and buy the product.

In the end, the decisions at the microlevel could be at times be controlled by an individual but the circumstances prevaileing the decisons and the conditioning of the individual are outside the individual’s ambit.