A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I neither strongly agree nor strongly disagree to the present recommendation that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I have this stand for the following reasons. I believe that every nation is diverse. The regional education system is responsible for propogating the culture, values and teachings of the land or society. Standardizing the curriculum might lead to belitting this diversity. Of course, educational system isn't the only way to preserve culture but it is an effective one. Children are impressionable and can be sensitized to this diversity at a very young age, thus can be made sensitive to cultures and views belonging to not only their region but also those belonging to others . In a world where there is such duality within nations, i.e. going global yet being protectionist, the need for acknowledging and celebrating this diversity has never been more pertinent.

On the other hand, a standardized national curriculum would help to impart the same eduction to all children in the country irrespective of their socio-economic status. A national curriculum is this case will at least enable access to standard knowledge base to all children across the country and enable them to equal oppourtunities at least knowledge wise.

However, in countries where children are denied even the most basic right to education either due to their socio-economic circumstances or due lack of access and availability, the debate on presence or absence of national curriculum holds no ground. Any curriculum be national or regional, has to backed with adequate access to it. What use would developing a state-of-art curriculum be if it doesn't reach the ones who need it?

In my opinion a curriculum which seamlessly blends local teaching to prepare the student to face the real world problems is the one that the country needs to adopt. A curriculum which broadens understanding and instills ability of scientific inquiry is the one the country needs to adopt. A curriculum which is backed by sound infrastructure of schools, able teachers to teach it and which is accessible, available and affordable to all is the one that has to be adopted.