It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Who is are heroes? Do they exist in real or are they just a figment of our imagination? Who do we call a hero? Is it someone like Gandhi who stands by his principles of non-violence, equality, freedom and brings about a social movement which freed the people of a country? Or is it someone like superheroes of our favourite fantasy series who bashes villains?

I think heroes are epitomise the morals and principles that a society still values. This is what makes a hero, a hero be it a real one or someone fictionally created! I think to claim the society today can longer regard any living man or woman is not correct at all. Heroes and society create one another. Our history and present is replete with such examples.

A Swedish teenager in Europe was so pained by the inertness of adults to tackle climate change that she boycotted school everyday to sit in front of the Parliament demanding them to act and act soon. She is Greta Thumberg. She is a living example and has been hailed a hero for leading from the front. She inspired hundred thousands of school going children to march for climate and compel their governments to take cognizance and introspect on their stand on climate change. UK being one of such countries. She is being considered for nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize by her country. Yes, she is a hero, Nobel Prize or not.

Speaking of award winners like ones who have received Nobel Prizes, Magasaysay Awards, Bravery Awards, Literary Awards, Entertainment Awards are heroes in their own might and right! Some are scientific and academic consummates like scientists and economists, some are social workers like Dr. Prakash Amte while some are people like Nelson Mandela who epitomise social movements and human values.

Society draws inspiration from time and again and these heroes help make societies. Dr. Ambedkar, the architect of Constitution of India, had long ago cautioned against the perils of hero worship. People place heroes on a pedestal that is very high and this is fatal for both the society and the hero equally. The fanatism along with the narcissism of the hero indicates doom.

I don’t think our have our morals degraded that no one can be hailed as a hero. Our society still values like equality, freedom, fraternity. So why do we need one hero when we can be heroes and heroines of our everyday lives.