Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet

access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in

touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

According to me, it would be beneficial to provide smartphone to young children, however this issues is not so simple to determine the benefit on single factor. There are different aspect to this issue which shall be evaluated to make a proper decision.

I think it is beneficial to give young children smartphone as it opens access to lots of information that would help in development of those children. Having unlimited access to new information via internet helps to encourage their curiosity and enriches their growth. There is a lot of information on sciences, languages, learning which are explained in proper fashion to young minds. Considering these opportunities, it is beneficial for young children to have smartphones.

However, on contrary to that, smartphone connected to the internet has lots of information on topics that might be detrimental. Unrestricted access to internet might also give them access to brainwashing agendas to certain groups, mis-information on controversial topics. There are different websites which aggrandize self-harm, a recent game named as "blue whale" is a prime example of negative effects of having smartphone.

In addition to that, smartphone promotes banter and confusion. Connections are maintained via communication applications, sharing photos, texts. This involves a lot of social signaling. Social signaling is important part of lives of young children as they are going through an age of self discovery where they might not understand what should they do. This also brings complication of how information spread across the social groups young children tend to form via electronic media. Rapid forms of communication usually promote spreading of canard, which might prove to be negative for the social group.

To sum it up, providing smartphone to young children might have some positives, but considering the negatives in terms of possibility of brainwashing, mis-information and confusion in such a tender age, we can conclude that it is better to deny access to smartphones. Even if smartphone is provided, it shall be locked down to show content appropriate for that age group.