The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During the time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The business manager of a television station puts forth an argument, that increased time on national news coverage and decreased time on local and weather news over past year on their late-night news program has connection with most of the complaints from the viewers regarding local and weather news. To add-on the complaints, local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with the television station. The business manager suggests that reverting to the earlier situation will help them restore their advertising revenue. This argument is plausible, however evidence is needed to evaluate it.

Firstly, the business manager assumes that complaints related to station's coverage related to weather and local news is directly connected to decrease in time for weather and local news in their late-night news program. However, there is no such evidence provided to indicate direct causation between these two. The complaints can be related to wrong information or irrelevant news topics, which aren't connected to decreased time. Also, it doesn't provide information about how the concerned complaints are directed towards station's late-night news program. These complaints can also be related to content shown in station's other news programs which showcase local and weather news. Hence, evidence is required to evaluate whether the complaints about local and weather news are specifically about less time to weather and local news in station's late-night news program.

Secondly, the business manager assumes direct connection between less time to weather and local news in late-night news program and canceling of advertising contracts by local businesses with the station. This assumption needs to be corroborated with proper evidence, as the canceling of contracts can have alternative explanations. One of the alternative explanations can be that, advertisement rates of given station might be high as compared to other stations. This explains how local businesses will move to other stations by canceling advertising contracts. Other explanation can be that local businesses must have postulated, that investing in late-night news program is not beneficial as viewerships might be less. Therefore, evidence is needed to corroborate this assumption.

To sum up, the business manager needs evidence which directly suggests that viewers are unhappy about decline in time devoted to local and weather news and they are interested in having the time restored to earlier level. Along with this, local businesses shall be surveyed for the possible reasons for canceling of advertising contract. In light of new evidence, this arguments can be evaluated properly.