The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument derives itself from the fact that - over two years, number of skateboarders has waxed and number of shoppers has waned in Central Plaza. Entirety of the argument lies in assuming causal relationship between numbers of skateboarders increasing and number of shoppers decreasing. In addition to that, the argument also extends this assumption to suggest that rise in vandalism and litter throughout the plaza is because of the skateboarders. At the end, suggesting that skateboarders shall be banned from Central Plaza, so the numbers of shoppers would go back to previous level.

For this recommendation to succeed, the underlying assumptions shall be true. Did increase in numbers of skateboarders lead to decrease in number of shoppers? Are there other factors which elaborate upon decrease in number of shoppers over two years? Would situation return to as it was two years ago?

To answer first and second questions, we need to understand whether decrease in numbers of shoppers is linked with increase in number of skateboarders. Decrease can be explained by loss of interest amongst shoppers in shops at Central Plaza. There can be another shopping district which shoppers might prefer. Hence, it shall be accounted for. If a section of shoppers from two years ago, belonged to particular neighborhood and a favorable shopping district was constructed near their neighborhood, it can explain the decrease. In addition to that, the decrease can also be attributed to presence of bad neighborhood in the surroundings of Central Plaza. Furthermore, the cost of goods in popular area like Central Plaza might be high as compared to other areas. If availability of cheaper goods elsewhere had become possible, it can explain the decrease too. In these scenarios, the skateboarders are not responsible for the decrease in shoppers. Hence, implementing the recommendation might not give us desired results.

To answer the third question, we need to understand how the situation has changed from what it was two years ago. Shift in trend can explain shift in shopping habits of shoppers. Perhaps, the products offered by shops at Central Plaza were popular two years ago as against to now. This would explain the decrease.

Consider above possibilities, we need to find more information by asking these question. If rise in numbers of skateboarders isn't the reason behind fall in numbers of shoppers, implementing the recommendation would not produce the desired outcome.