As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological development has been hallmark of human development and it has enabled humans to tackle problems which are more complex in nature. It is false that, as people rely more on technology, their ability to think on their own deteriorates.

Technology has enabled us to save time by performing mundane tasks faster and better. We can access plethora of books, papers, and news articles on the internet, which saves time taken to commute to library or book store. Invention of motor vehicles has decreased travelling time. Food can be preserved for longer time and produced on much larger scale. This has made humans more productive.

Increased productivity and free time results in increased focus on new problems. Time and efforts, which are vital resources, are not wasted on repetitive tasks. A scientist can use computers to process huge amount of experimental data to formulate his theory by spending more time on formulating the theory, rather than spending it on process the data by himself. Robots are used to manufacture cars, which frees the human labor to focus on other tasks. Thinkers across the world are using technological advances to solve more complex problems – global warming, space travel, improving connectivity, proper governance, alternative energy sources, etc.

The argument against technology goes on like – with increased reliance on technology, people would lose the ability to perform mundane tasks, and when technology breaks down, it will be a huge problem. This is a possibility that break down of technology can cause disruptions. However, this can be dealt with by evolving technology more robust or less susceptible to breakdown. Electric cars are developed to reduce reliance on limited fuel resources. Photovoltaic cells were developed to harness clean and free energy from sunlight. Battery operated laptops are available, which can be operated during blackouts. While developing technology, we are thinking on new frontiers and tackling new problems.

It can be concluded that, technology has been aiding humans to perform mundane and repetitive tasks, enabling humans to think on challenging and complex problems which was not possible before. Hence, increased reliance on technology is not deteriorating ability of humans to think on their own.