It has recently been announced that a new movie theater may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

According to me, a movie theatre in my neighbourhood is a really good idea. Since, I am interested in arts and entertainment, I support this plan. There are different aspects of a movie theatre that are beneficial to the society around it. There are also some negatives. My support towards this plan comes from careful considerations of all the positives and negatives. There are different reasons I support a movie theatre in my neighbourhood.

First, the movie theatre would provide a source of recreation in my neighbourhood. As, people are free on their weekends, a movie theatre would prove to be beneficial for the neighbouring society. Movies are coming off as one of the leading sources of entertainment, hence there is a lot of demand for movie theatre. Having multiple sources of recreations has also resulted in lower stress level in people, who regularly visit such places. Hence, having a movie theatre is beneficial for people in neighbourhood.

Second, the movie theatre would attract crowd and would increase the earnings of local businesses. In my locality, there are number of local businesses. Transportation business will earn, because movie theatre would attract people. Food and beverages business will thrive, as there will be more people in area than before. It has also been seen that families generally eat at nearby restaurants after watching movies in theatre. As, a movie theatre would attract people, it helps every other business as there would be higher number of people in the area.

However, as there are positives, there are negatives too. Movie theatres around local schools will increase truancy by students. Movies theatres are often visited by young crowd and having a movie theatre near a school would most definitely attract swath of youngsters. Movie theatres are often seen as places to go for dates. In addition to that, it has been found that after the movie, these couples are found performing acts of public display of affection in nearby parks. This might affect the children playing in those parks. Furthermore, rise in crowd in locality also demands better traffic management and infrastructural facilities. There is also problem of negligent garbage disposal on roads or sidewalks. Despite that, these problems can be addressed by Municipal corporation by regulating traffic, new rules for public parks, proper garbage disposal mechanism.

To sum it up, movie theatres provide a source of recreation and help alleviate stress levels. Along with that, it will help local businesses perform well. However, the problems associated with it shall be addressed by the Municipal corporation. Considering all this, I support the plan to build a movie theatre in my neighbourhood.