Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the given claim, the claimant wants to highlight how scandals can be conducive to focusing attention on problems which can't be elicited by any speaker or reformer. Scandals are actions which are regarded as morally or legally wrong, they also tend to foment public outrage. Scandals can highlight at crucial problems in society and help social scientists and administrators eradicate them. However, scandals come with a cost of instability and disaffection.

Scandals are ignominious for any nation or society. Corruption scandals by government officials or elected leaders can highlight at problems in society or government. Once highlighted, frameworks can be built to mitigate effects of such problems and prevent any future occurences. In wake of corruption cases by elected government in India, a framework was set up which made the laws regarding corruption more stringent and the agency was given power to be more vigilant. Futhermore, lynching scandals have highlighted how fake news can cause killings by mob. Hence, scandals can be regarded as spotlights which help a society or nation to identify deep rooted problems and mitigate its effects.

In addition to that, scandals elicit public outrage because the lines of morality were crossed. This also foments debate around the issue in hand. They question our long held morality and its ill-effects. It can also help drive a movement against certain cause. Just as stringent laws are important for a thriving society, public debates are also important to exchange views and counter-views on questions of morality. Public debate is important to form new beliefs and to strengthen old beliefs when required. Recent emergence of scandals in Hollywood highlights workplace harassment of women in film industry. This caused a movement against sexual harassment of women workers in any industry. Hence, scandals are necessary to foment public debate on crucial topics.

On contrary to above points, scandals by their nature are bad for nation and society. They communicate how society or the nation is plagued by problems. Scandals cause public outrage and without proper control, a state of instability might arise. This state of instability can become fertilizers for ever more ignoble scandals in future. State of distrust and disaffection might lead to failure of governing mechanism by which a nation functions. Corruption case in coveted administrative services can hurt their reputation and affect their efficacy. When politicians connive in mass riots and mob killings to take advantage of instability to establish their power, it can be detrimental to democracy. Hence, scandals can shake foundation of public.

Furthermore, scandals not only affect society deeply, but also it affects sectors connected to society as well. Economy, Businesses, Government machinery, Educational Institutes, etc can have drastic effect from scandals. Companies might discourage to set up their operations in areas where politicians are frequently involved in scandals, bribery is often found to cripple new business establishments by local people. Scandal surrounding judiciary can shake the foundations of trust in judiciary by people. Educational institutes, where future citizens of the nation and society study, can have ideological shift due to scandalous events. Therefore, scandals can cause a ripple effect in other sectors connected to society.

To sum it up, scandals can be useful to identify and understand problems in society or government. Along with that, it can stir public debate on crucial aspects of morality. However, the way scandals affect society can lead to instability and distrust in government machinery. This also causes ripple effect in other sectors which are connected to workings of society.