Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

The claim suggests that company management should routinely monitor email correspondences of employees, which would help in reducing waste resources, and would also protect company from lawsuits. This position seems plausible as it has several positive outcomes, however it also has several implications which need critical analysis. Routine monitoring would help secure the company and their operations, but would increase the feeling of hostility amongst the employees.

Routine monitoring will most certainly help with reducing wastage of resources. Casual email exchange often result into use capacity for redundant usage. Most often, fellow employees can exchange casual conversation with each other for entertainment, which is often a negative for productivity directly. Since, company is paying the employees for their work and productivity, they are expected to be productive rather than engage in online banter. Hence, routine monitoring would help in reducing wastage of resources.

Routine monitoring is also essential in curbing loss of security because of actions taken by employees. Employees can, with naivety and ignorance, access spams, and download harmful softwares. Routinely monitoring emails would definitely help curtain any such problem. In addition to that, it would also help in reducing collusion by any employee for his own benefit. There can be several incidences of security breaches in company data, which can be detrimental to the company as whole. Hence, routine monitoring would help reduce any possibility of security breaches.

However, routine monitoring of emails would elicit hostile feelings from the employee body. A company hiring employees is surely paying them for their work, skills, and productivity, but not for strict control and monitoring company management would be signaling by implementing such policy. As, routine email check impinges on employees right of freedom of speech and privacy, it is just for employees to feel alienated towards company management. These feelings can be detrimental for the company in the long term, hence such policy implementation shall be avoided.

In addition to that, casual conversations are part of human social behavior which enhances the bonding between them. Routine email check would inhibit such conversations, and bonding between different employees can be severed. It would decrease the overall productivity of the company, as bonding between different employees and departments is necessary for company as whole. Also, not being about to voice their concerns due to privacy considerations can increase overall unhappiness or discontent in employees. As, a happy employee is a productive employee, this policy can prove to be detrimental.

To sum it up, the policy is bound to produce good results in short term, however considering the dynamics of social structure of employees in the company and lack of privacy can result into overall decrease in productivity. These consequences of such policy shall be understood and policy shall not be impliemented.