The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The speaker talks about situation in Kensington Academy, where the academy has handed the management of cafeteria to private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves nutritious food, but the speaker states that students do not find this food as enjoyable, which derives itself from statements by his son and his friends. The speaker suggests that, though the intention was to introduce good food to students, but as they don't find it enjoyable, they will bring less healthy home made food to eat. Concluding that, Swift shall be replaced with another vendor or there would be bad health consequences for students. This argument rests on some assumptions for which there is no evidence provided.

Firstly, the speaker should provide evidence regarding "whether most of the students find the food provided by Swift Nutrition unenjoyable". The statement about students not enjoying the food is derived from opinion of a limited group which is not representative of entire student body. Since, enjoyability of food is based on subjective thinking, opinion of limited group over such matter can not be representative. Questions to answer to verify this should be - "Do most part of student body find the food by Swift Nutrition unenjoyable?"

Secondly, the speaker states that if students find the food in cafeteria unenjoyable, they would bring home-made food which would be unhealthy. This is based on two assumptions, for which no evidence is presented. First is, if students find cafeteria food unenjoyable, they would start bringing home-made food. Second is, the home-made food brought by students will be necessarily less healthy. It might turn out that, although the food is unenjoyable, students won't bring home-made food. In additon to that, home-made food might be more healthy that food provided by Swift Nutrition in the cafeteria. These assumptions can be answered with - "What is the possibility of students bringing home-made food, if they find cafeteria food unenjoyable?" and "Is the home-made food bought by students less healthy?"

Lastly, the speaker makes a conclusion which points at serious healthy hazard for students at Kensington Academy, which can be stated as far-fetched without substantial evidence. The locality Kensington students come from might be from families who care more about health. Hence, this health hazard seems implausible to happen. Kensington Academy board might be concerned about health of students and has several initiatives to guarantee good health and health education to it's students. Since, health depends on holistic parameters and not on food alone, the prediction seems unwarranted without any evidence.

To sum it up, the arguments seems plausible, but makes several unwarranted assumptions. It should evaluated if most students find food by Swift Nutrition unenjoyable, if they would bring home-made food in backdrop of them finding the food unenjoyable. They should also evaluate possibility of home-made food being less healthy and possibility of health hazard holistically.