The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The speaker here puts an argument that during summer season, as the population of Balmer Island increases, efforts shall be taken to reduce the accidents caused involving mopeds and pedestrians. Since, moped is popular form of transportation in Balmer Island, the speaker proposes to reduce the rental of mopeds and postulates that accidents will reduce by 50 percent as it did in Seaville last year. This theory is flawed and needs more evidence and studies to evaluate if reducing number of rented mopeds will reduce the accidents.

Firstly, amongst several assumptions, the speaker tries to establish that lowering the number of rented mopeds will reduce the accidents. In this case, it seems plausible that reducing the number of rented mopeds will reduce the number of mopeds being driven. As, there are less number of mopeds being driven, the accidents will tend to be less. However, this assumption doesn't account proportion of mopeds rented as against proportion of mopeds owned. If number of mopeds owned is higher that number of mopeds rented, it would not affect much. Hence, reducing the number of rented mopeds would render ineffective in such scenario.

Secondly, assuming that reducing the number of mopeds is plausible in the given situation, the speaker gives no data on whether reducing rented mopeds from 50 per day to 25 per day would effect in reduction the number of accidents by 50 percent. It is crucial to analyse how the reduction in number of rented mopeds will affect accidents. Without any support, the assumption can't be proved. Hence, statistical data and studies are needed to corroborate this assumption.

Thirdly, the speaker compares situation in Seaville with situation in Balmer Island. On contrary, the speaker doesn't provide any data on how Seaville and Balmer Islands are similar and similar policy would result in similar results. There is no room for verity in such an assumption. As, what worked in Seaville may not work in Balmer Island because of differences in terrain, conditions of road, differences in weather conditions, different in driving styles of people, differences in popularity of mopeds, etc. More data is needed to evaluate how reduction in number of rented mopeds affected number of accidents in Seaville and would similar causation can be posited for Balmer Island.

Here, we can conclude that more data and studies are needed to evaluate this case. This would include a survey to understand use of rented mopeds and owned mopeds. Statistical analysis is needed to determine by how much the moped rental shall be reduced. Also, if the policy of reducing number of rented moped succeeded in Seaville, it shall be studied independently how such policy affects Balmer Island.