To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

After Industrial Revolution, cities have become centre of activity. Vast amount of population migrates to cities for work, business, and for better educational opportunities. Due to this, cities have been centre of diverse societal interactions too. Therefore, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, studying major cities is important. However, population which doesn't live in major cities are also integral part of society and it shall be accounted for when we are perusing society.

Through 19th and 20th centuries, we have seen tremendous growth in major cities. Most of the major investments are done in cities, because it has potential of benefiting a larger amount of population. With ready availability of work, people have often immigrated into cities. Due to different work cultures, people from different jobs have been found to interact with each other. Also, there is presence of social hierarchy depending on place of residence and income earned. This provides a very good opportunity to study society based on these aspects. A diverse set of interactions can be witnessed in Mumbai, which is one of the major cities in India, between people travelling in rail transit system which is divided in expensive first class and cheaper second class.

Often people from surrounding small towns and rural areas gather in cities. These people come from different cultural backgrounds. There are cases of people hailing from different part of countries too. Interaction between people from different background can be studied to understand different aspect of society. Bangalore, one of the major cities in India, has diverse cultural interactions. People from Southern India, Western India, Northern India and North Eastern India have become part of this city. Being a hub for growing Information Technology industry, a lot of young population is also part of this city.

Taking into account how cities can be studied to understand society, rural areas and small towns shall not be neglected. Rural areas have long been centre of agricultural industry, along with emerging small businesses industry. Demographics of these areas can be considered as comparatively less educated. They can also been seen as islands of cultural homogeneity. Since, these are integral part of any society, it deserves attention while understanding important characteristics of society. Many villages in India are still backward and they have different set of beliefs when it comes to important issues of religion, society, national development. These villages can be seen as cultural islands.

It can be concluded that, to understand important characteristics of society, studying diverse interactions in major cities is important. However, interactions in small towns and rural areas shall not be neglected.