Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet
access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in
touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?
In my opinion, it is absolutely the wrong idea for parents to allow their children to have
smart phones. They are immensely distracting, expensive, and unhealthy.
Cell phones have the power to distract young students from school work. Rather than
paying attention in class, students try to sneak opportunities to play on their phones.
Instead of thinking about schoolwork, they obsessively text each other and try to check
sites like Facebook. This takes time away from valuable studying. This is a problem both
during school and afterwards, when youngsters should be working on their homework.
At the same time, smart phones can be extremely costly. Many plans require parents to
pay abusively high monthly rates. At times, these rates can climb even higher if children
use too much data due to things like downloading songs on the Internet. Rather than
wasting money on a phone, parents should use the funds on better causes, like tutors for
their children, or a home computer on which supervised learning can take place.
Finally, smart phones can be dangerous for young children. We are still unsure medically
what the long term effects of exposure to cell phones are, particularly on vulnerable
groups such as children. It would be better to be safe than sorry. The less exposure
children have to potential toxins, the better. At the same time, kids are sometimes
targeted on social media sites by dangerous strangers. If parents allow young children to
have smart phones, it might be difficult to protect them in the long term from these kinds
of threats.
While older children may sometimes need them to stay in touch with their parents due to
their many obligations outside of the house after school, there is little cause for younger
children to own them. Parents should encourage their children to read and think in their
spare time, developing their minds. Smartphones are unhelpful when it comes to this
goal.