A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The study claims that the children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact they have little or no access to professional dental care, while United states have a significantly better access. The study concludes by saying regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. This conclusion is baseless in this case and it has little or no data for its support. The first missing fact that needs to be addressed is about the daily hygiene of the children from both these areas. If significant amount of the tested children in the United states does not take proper dental care which in-turn results in their tooth decay, then the dental care cannot be blamed.

Only if enough data about the daily hygiene about children in both the regions are addressed, can we support or oppose the the conclusion. Another missing information is about the food habits about the children in these two distinct areas. Certain sugary foods or fast foods tend to increase the chances for tooth decay significantly. Moreover in a developed country like the United states, the inclination of children towards fast food needs to be taken into consideration. If this proves to be a factor for increased tooth decay in the United States, then the conclusion given after the study can be rendered baseless.

The study gives no information of the food habits of the children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal and it does not give data about the methods they use maintain their teeth healthy. If there is a significantly better method used by them when compared to that of the children in United States, the role of the dental care can be inconsequential when preventing tooth decay. But this conclusion needs more data about the methods they use and their lifestyles. Only if these useful methods could be followed as such in a different country, can we neglect the role of regular dental care in preventing tooth decay. There is also no data about the procedure involved when a child visits a dental care and if enough is done to prevent tooth decay or to counter the effects of bacteria build up. The quality of dental cares in the United States needs to be addressed here.

Rounding up, a lot more data and clarity is required to get a better insight into the situation. More information is needed in the areas of lifestyles, food habits, quality of dental care and the methods used by the children of Nepal to take care of their teeth. Only if sufficient information about the above mentioned areas are given, can we reach a logical conclusion on whether the regular dental care is helpful or not in preventing tooth decay.