The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

We live in the 21st century. The world is getting more competitive as each day passes. Most of the current generation is stuck in the rat race to earn more and better their standards of living. Even when we take the job prospects, it is far more competitive than it was in the last decades. The claim states that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership roles is to instill in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. I believe that the sense of cooperation and the sense of competition are two distinct skills that are not replaceable by one another and is vital in its own ways.

I agree to the claim only to a very limited extent. In this world where we have cut throat competitions and the best positions only reserved for the cream of creams, without having the sense of competition, it is difficult for the young generation to survive. Take the very fundamental case of relative grading that prevail in schools and universities. The students are graded on the comparitive performance of their fellow batch mates. If the students fail to make it to the standards of performance held up by others, or if they don't perform better than their classmates, they will end up with a relatively low grade and gpa. This will affect their prospective careers and even admission to future degree programmes.

One can argue that cooperation and team work is required to excel in any field and that is what the industry actually demands in this era. This is true, but merely having a sense of cooperation and no competition will put one at disadvantage when compared to their counterparts. This might result in adverse consequences in the industrial world, if an employee is found lagging behind in terms of performance when compared with others. Non performance-oriented tasks are minimal. For the most parts, each leadership position in any field requires a sense of competition in some or the other way, so merely instilling young people with a sense of cooperation is not sufficient enough for them to prosper in their fields.

Competition is an inevitable factor in any field. Even if take for example a position in the government of the country. Winning the elections by outperforming other canditates itself is a big competition. With a laid back attitude, no one can gather the votes from the common masses. Only if the candidates can outperform the others and prove to be better representatives, can they stand a chance to win the elections.

Considering the competitive nature of the contemporary era and the performance oriented nature of the industries, I strongly believe that competition is an unavoidable factor in any field. In such a case, rounding up the points, I disagree with the claim stating that a sense of competition should not be instilled in the younger generation. Both the senses of competition and cooperation are vital to the wholesome development of young people and for them to succeed and lead good lives in the future.