A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The argument concludes that the company should not devote further resources to the investigation because the chemicals found in their pet foods are already approved. The argument fails to answer many vital questions and does not give enough data to be proved logical and warranted. The first question that should be answered is: What is the proportion of chemicals to be added to the pet food for its safe consumption? Without the right amounts and proportions, the foods can have drastic effect on animals.

On the other hand, the data of how many out of the 4 million pets were adversely affected by the consumption of the product is not stated in the argument. Only with a numerical value of how many pets had consumed the food and how many out of them were badly affected can give us the right insight on whether the pet food is actually dangerous for the animals or not. Another question that is not addressed in the argument is: Is there a limit to which the animals consume this food? Yes it should be safe to consume in whatever amounts if it is ideal, but was there a prescribed maximum? The answer to this question might raise doubts on the quality of the food.

There is absolutely no data about whether the animals had only consumed this product and how many of them had consumed only this. It requires serious investigation to check whether the pets had only eaten this product or is there anything common among the people who had complained. A detailed enquiry on the diets which the pets have followed on the previous days of their illness will lead us to any logical conclusion on whether the pet food from the given company is solely responsible for their bad conditions. Another important question that should be addressed is whether the chemicals found in this food are prone to react to any others in different foods to form something harmful. This implies more resources should be invested into the investigation as checking on the mere presence of approved chemicals will not give us any answers on whether or not the product is safe.

Rounding up all the missing details that need to be addressed and the possible questions that need to be answered, I strongly believe the argument alone is insufficient to reach conclusions. The final verdict given in the argument to not devote further resources to the investigation is absolutely wrong. Only if the questions about the proportionality of chemicals that is used, the amount of food that could safely be ingested by the animals and the details about the diet and recent life events of the animals be given, only then can we reach to a logical conclusion.