Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

The resources of a country should be used wisely. The fields of military and arts are entirely different, both these fields are necessary for the wholesome development of a country. The national security of a country depends upon its military strength, and there are other very important factors like terrorism and disaster control, where the military plays a vital role. The recommendation mentions that the government should invest as much in arts as they do in the military. I do not fully agree with this statement as the country's budget depends upon a lot of different factors and without taking them into consideration, such a recommendation cannot be adopted.

When we take the majority of cases, a lot of countries are under debts and face economic troubles throughout the year. These developing or under-developed countries needs to use their resources in much more vital areas than arts. Food, safety for its citizens, national security and higher living standards are some of the more important areas that needs focus before investing their money and resources in arts. In such a situation, these countries ought to give more emphasis on its military resources to have their citizens protected and helped when needed. When there are issues that needs to be addressed before investing in arts in the scenario, this recommendation will not be worth the cost the governments invest.

If we take the case of a developed nation in which its military forces are strong enough and the national security is sound, this recommendation is very valid, as spending equal amounts in arts betters the opportunities for artists and improves their living standards. For the wholesome development of the society, good entertainment and equal opportunities for all professions are important. Hence, the recommendation improves the lives of the people who live in mostly developed countries if adopted.

Investments should be made based on the needs of a country. Its government needs to carefully address the problems faced and set their budgets accordingly. The recommendation will only be helpful in certain limited scenarios in countries whose military resources are top notch and the living standards of the people are on the higher side.

Rounding up the points that are necessary to address the recommendation, my position is to maintain a neutral stand on this recommendation and giving more emphasis on the issues faced by the country and then divide its investments. The super powers of the world can definitely take this recommendation into consideration as their military is strong enough to defend and tackle different issues and their people are living at a higher standards. But the developing countries needs to give more importance to their national security and focus on developing their military resources, more than arts. Hence more investments should be made for their military than for their art sectors.