Essay topics: The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The city council's proposed methodology to replace incandescent bulbs with LEDs is supported only by two reasons. However the proposal misses out one very substancial evidence. Nowhere in the argument does it say that LEDs consume lesser energy than the incandescent bulbs. Even though it states that LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase than the latter, it does not sufficiently support the council's proposal to save money on electrical costs.

The prediction as mentioned by the city council demands for more clarity on certain issues. It addresses that the LED light burns brighter but it fails to mention the size of the area it can cover with that brightness. This significantly weakens the prediction. If a survey on whether the LED bulbs serve the same area as that of the incandescent bulbs should have proved more logical and useful.

Another question that could be raised against the prediction is the reliability of the product, nowhere in the proposal does it say that the LED bulbs are more reliable than the incandescent bulbs or even if it lasts longer. An experiment should have been done to address the reliability of the product before concluding that LED bulbs are more cost saving than the latter. This question of its durability also certainly weakens the prediction. If the LED bulbs are to be replaced more often than the incandescent bulbs, then the proposal will serve absolutely no purpose in reality.

The availability and transport costs of the LED bulbs has also an important role to play in deciding the electrical costs of Town X. If the availability of the LED bulbs are lesser and each time it requires a certain higher amount of money to transport it from the manufacture, this can significantly increase the electric charges. One possible solution to address this issue was to take a census of the shops that has a sufficient stock of LED bulbs and whether that would be enough to meet the demand.

Altogether the efficacy of the city council's proposal to save money on electrical costs seem to have missed to address some vital points. Only if the above mentioned points that inlcude the reliability, availability and current consumption can be addressed, we can conclude that there will be sufficient enough evidence to prove that the electrical costs will be reduced and significant amount of money be saved.