The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The city council of town X has suggested that switching all incandescent bulbs to leds can help town X save money by reducing the city's electrical expense. they claim that leds can be more cost-effective due to they being the same cost to purchase as incandescent bulbs and that they burn brighter. However, before this recommentdation can be evaluated, a few questions must be answered.

does having the same cost to purchase and glowing brighter mean they they'll help reduce the electricity bill? The most important parameter when judging the current consumption of any electrical appliance is the wattage of that product. Maybe the leds glow brighter because they also use more electricity to run. The city council has not mentioned anything about the led bulb's wattage, rating, and other parameters such as lumens per watt (which measures the brightless per watt used). it is also possible that leds give twice the amount of light, but also consume twice as many resources. this puts further strain on the city's expenses. if either of these examples have merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument would be flawed.

Will the leds last as long as the incandescent lights did? The leds cost just about as much as the old light bulbs, so they should at least have a lifespan of what the incandescent bulbs do. if the leds die out after a few months of service, it wouldn't be sensible to install them, since the incandescent bulbs work for years without hiccups. Chnaging these bulbs would double the cost initially set aside for each bulb. Reliability is a factor being unwarrentedly asssumed by the city council. if the above is true, it would deem the argument to be flawed as well.

Considering that the council has after all decided to continue with it's plan, another question that an be asked is if there are any indirect costs to switching to leds. are the leds compatible with the existing infrastructure? Will they require new bulb holders? does it require professional help to install such new equipment? any of the above being true would place an extra burden on the city's expenses.

In conclusion the argument does not hold due to it's reliance on many fallible assumptions. if the author provides more evidence on the questions asked, then it might be viable to consider the council's prediction.