A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A common war-cry from supporters of the burgeoning nationalistic agenda, is "Unification". it is in fact common for one to switch on any news channel on the TV and find an unimaginative debate on nationalism running on it. The prompt suggests that all school students be taught according to one national curriculum, instead of diverse local ones. I mostly disagree with this statement and argue why it should not be so for 3 reasons.

Let's consider a highly diverse nation like india. india is home to more that 150 distinct languages and is divided into 28 individual states based on their language and culture. A new development, is the push to impose a single ideology over the entire country, starting with a common curriculum to be taught in every school. this will have a detrimental effect on an entire generation of the future because they will be disconnected from their own local cultures and history. For instance, the new course aims to remove all local history, of how the individual cultures grouped together to fight the British for the country's independence. this will automatically erase all sense of pride that one might have for their region. If a person is ignorant of their ancestral achievements, there is little left to entice her to do more for the country. another step the new curriculum wants to take is the abolishment of the study of all regional languages and impose the majority language as the national one. this goes against the values of the nation and it's constitution. We can see from the above examples that it is never good to have politics enter into the educational system.

If a person is ignorant of their ancestral achievements, there is little left to entice her to do more for the country.

Secondly a single national curriculum tends to generalize the process of education for all types of students. this means that students do not get a choice to define their own path of study. For example, the national curriculum in india is trying to standardize a set of subjects for every grade from primary to high school. there is no option for the students to select from them. this would kill the creativity inside. A student deeply interested in arts, would find it extremely difficult to do high school advance biology. another student who wants to major in a foreign language would not be able to do so, because she has never had the opportunity to expose herself to that language in school.

But, one advantage that comes with a single syllabus, is standardization of study. having one curriculum can ensure an equitable level of difficulty between all subjects and classes. exams can have more standardized results, helping meritorious students from all parts of the country to get equal access to admissions. instead, a few states have a simple syllabus, or their exams are not held to the required stringent standards, giving those students an unfair advantage. equal opportunities for all is one thing a national curriculum advocates.

Overall, the issue of whether a national curriculum should be imposed is a very complex one. it has it's advantages and also has many downfalls. there are no easy yes/no answers to this question. it will be more viable to have experts deliberate the pros and cons and make a decision on this.