The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

The argument presents several unwarranted assumptions regarding the public’s lack of awareness being the sole cause of abated attendees in the past years movie show. The author’s claim, the company’s movies are of good quality and the obliviousness of the public as a cause for the company’s audience reduction plus his/her recommendation - greater funds should be pushed to advertising - are flawed and gives room for several questions that must be addressed in order to assess the viability of his/her claim and recommendation.

Firstly, there is less proper statistical proof to corroborate the authors conclusion. Last years movies might have had higher negative review percentage though there was an increase in its positive review - to what extent is not mentioned by the author. The author should have mentioned the number of attendees for last year’s and its preceding years, the number of movies reviewed and the number of movie reviewers. The difference between last years attendees and the other past years might be negligible - maybe a difference of 2% reduction. It’s uncertain the number of movies reviewed - a smaller number may attract fewer audience as everyone has different type of movie of interest.

Secondly, the argument is narrowed and ineffectual in a sense that it fails to acknowledge a couple of factors that may have caused reduced attendees. Of such is the cost of a movie. Last years movie may have had a higher cost compared to the other years. People may have, due to a change in the economy, less income disposed into social amenities and entertainment and for that matter the reduction in attendees, albeit fully aware of available quality movies. The climate, time and setting of the movie show last year may have been unfavorable to the majority. Much information is needed to justify the argument.

Furthermore, the author assumes that increased public awareness directly proportional to increased audience. Such assumption, though conscionable, lacks evidence or data to attest such linear relationship and how and to what extent does allocating greater proportion of the company’s budget to advertising affects the company’s quota is clearly unknown in the passage. Whether such recommendation is feasible in a short or long time, whether the company’s sponsors are willing to cooperate and advocate such action, whether the number of audience will drastically increase to what’s expected - as to meet losses that may be accumulated by the company in implementing such action - is abstract and no such information is given to guarantee the success of taking such action.

In conclusion, the arguments needs to be backed by convincing information in order to precisely assess the viability of the recommendation. This is imperative for determine the best and feasible solution to the reduced audience of Super Screen-produced movies.