Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

These days every school advertises itself as an exam prep institution, promising admissions into top ranked colleges and universities. but to what extent does preparation for standardized exams, gets someone ready for the tumultuous impending life? The prompt recommends that more attention should be given to preparing students for the non-academic parts of life ahead. I strongly agree with this view and argue why schools must focus more on moulding their pupils to face whatever the world has to throw at them for two reasons.

Firstly, the human mind is one filled with variability. In school, kids often change their profession of choice repeatedly. They spend months ruminating about it, and after deciding, almost immediately have second thoughts about the selection. Let's consider a typical high schooler being bombarded with suggestions by her didactic peers and parents. after much deliberation she decides to pursue engineering, considering how it opens doors to high paying jobs. but post-graduation realization hits, that painting is what she really enjoys doing. Now ensues a period of utter uncertainty, in which she has to pick between the safe high paying career path, which she doesn't want to do, and the path which she most certainly enjoy but doesn't assure her of monthly income. Classes in school, which deal with decision-making and conflict resolution would have definitely helped her in such a situation. considering how many people go through the same predicament, makes such training of utmost importance.

Of course, some argue that academics are paramount, and a strong understanding of them, makes a youth ready for any challenges she might confront in her profession. but Isn't this exactly what we are trying to say? preparation for the more organic aspects of life, makes one equipped for any situation in life. Hence schools must put life lessons first and academics second.