Prompt: “’The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.’ Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

The contention that a sense of competion must be instilled in our youth is not a trivial one. In fact, this argument has lead to many debates and discussions among scholars as well. The prompt suggests that young people can be made better leaders by making them more cooperative from early on. I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue why youth must be made more competitive in nature, for three reasons.

To begin, competition is the marker most widely used to judge any person. right from primary school to the end of their lives, people constantly compete among each other. For instance, a company trying to recruit students out of college, never chooses candidates based on how cooperative they are. Instead the companies look for the applicant's grades through school, and how tehy fared in college. In essence, they try to identify how the candidate has fared against her "competition". we observe the same pattern when applying for graduate or undergraduate school. The primary aspect of one's eligibility into a university is their gre score. The gre is, you guessed right, "a competitive exam", which judges the test-taker;s standing against the other test-takers. these examples elucidate my claim that competitiveness, not cooperation, helps mould better leaders.

Secondly, the sense of competetion is instilled inside humans by nature. Every person is highly competitive in nayture, whether he likes it or not. Researchers have proved that twin babies inside a mother's womb, compete with one another for recources such as nutrients. right from the beginning of mankind, people fought among each other for leadership. The popular biblical story of Kane and Abel validates this. another situation is of cooperation between countries. Not a day passes by, when we do not come across news that two particular countries have decided to partner and share their recources. but did the USA become the world superpower by cooperating with its competitiors? No. In fact it stood firm ready to face war with the USSR, until it became the world leader. these examples show that it is again competetion that makes great leaders.

but cooperation is not always a bane. In situations where team activity leads to success, cooperation is the better option. The best sport teams in the world, are where they are due to the entire team's combined effort and not due to an individual performance. The same is true for teams with big cooperations too.

we saw that both options have their pros and cons. most leaders of major cooperations and powerful countries are all highly competitive people. but a team player is the one who facilitates a leader's rise to the top. Overall this is a very complex issue and there is no easy answer to