'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A memorandum from the business manager of a news station has recommended to increase the time alotted to converage of weather and local news in the channel's late night new porgram, to attract more viewers and to buck the loss of adveritising revenues. this was decided because the station has recieved complaints from viewers regarding the weather and local news coverage. also, local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts with the station. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three assumptions must be taken care off.

viewers have complained about the coverage of local news and weather. But does that imply that viewers are critical of the duration of coverage? The manager has assumed that viewers do not want to watch the increased duration of national news. For example, the viewers might love to watch the national news. After all, the political drama happening on the national level may attract more viewers. More evidence needs to be gathered on the likeability of the national news. Another reason might be the fact that viewers are complaining about the quality of the weather coverage. they might want more time dedicated to local weather instead of weather from elsewhere. they might not like the stories selected for the local news. The station might need to hire better reporters, to bring better quality stories to the viewers. if any of the above examples are true, the original arguments would not hold water.

Secondly, local businesses pulling out their advertisement contracts does not automatically lead to loss of advertisement revenue as implied by the business manager. For instance the vancant ad slots might have been taken up by bigger national companies with much more spending power. there is no evidence put forth by the manager ot suggest that advertisement based income has reduced. The bigger companies are also often willing to pay more for shorter time slots, allowing the TV channel to accomodate more ads during a break in the programme. these cases also further weeken the managers argument.

Another assumption that was made without any valid evidence, is that local companies have pulled out because of the change in the late-night news programme's format. there is a possibility that these companies cancelled simply beacuse lack of expected gains from the adverts. Every advertisement is judged by the amount of leads in converts. In other words, how many people responded to that ad by buying the advertisers product of services. these companies may have decided to run advertisemets on different platforms based on their market research. Maybe the ad expenses were not justifiable to them. if this example holds merit, then the concusion drawn from the original argument is flawed.

In conclusion the argument as it's made ow holds flawed due to its reliance on evidence which does not exist. if the author provides more evidence of the assumptions presented above, then t