Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument indicates that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, cheating reported has declined from twenty-one to fourteen after five years; third, many Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat in a recent survey. Tough the issue has its merit, due to unanswered questions and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author argues that under honor code system, the reported cheating has decreased from 21 to 14 over the recent five years, thus substantiating the strength of honor code. The argument may seem valid at first glance, after further examination, it is fallacious. The cheating reported is not necessarily the correct indication of the exact cheating numbers. What if some cases of cheating are not reported when students collude? What if students forget to report the cheating? For students who stress unity and do not want to betray peers, they are not plausible to report the cheating even if they notice one. Since the amount of real cheating is not measured, we are unable to make any comparison.

Furthermore, the author fails to consider the change over the five years. The students in Groveton can be in general more honest due to their previous education or learning from their parents. The total enrollment in Groveton might be decline. If these happen, then the declined number of cheating is not related to honor code. The author fails to consider the case when honor code is not applied. The condition in recent years may be even better without honor code, but we just do not know. Without well-designed experiment of cheating under students with same quality, the conclusion made by the author is not convincing.

Moreover, a recent survey might not be a persuasive evidence to support the goodness of honor code. We are not given detailed information of the survey, including questionnaires, participants, sample space and so on. For example, the survey might be only based on 5 students, with 4 students advocating the usage of honor code. Even though huge percentage of students have less tendency to cheat, these ten individuals are not representative of all students in Groveton. The result of survey from graduating seniors perhaps is not as persuasive as that from incoming freshmen. The survey could be 10 page long with only one question related to honor code. Students then can be careless or even not telling the truth when answering the question in front of overwhelming problems. Because the author does not offer the comprehensive survey of all groups of students, the argument is invalid.

Last but not least, the author unfairly applies honor code to the all the colleges and universities. The characteristics of different colleges and universities can vary a lot. Even if honor code is proven to be useful in Groveton, no evidence shows that it will be equally feasible in other colleges. For example, if a university already has its standard judgement and penalty for cheating, then honor code could be useless or even counterproductive.

To sum up, as it stands, the assumptions are based on several questionable evidences that curtail the credibility of the argument. To further strengthen the reliability, the author is suggested to provide the evidences as follows: first, comparison before and after the application of honor code is warranted; second, the survey regarding with honor code is well designed by experts and is a strong indicator of opinions of all groups of students; finally, honor code can be widely used even under different circumstances.