The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument claims that the adult population of the city will increase, so that the goverment should reduce funding for students to ensure sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults. while this statement might make sense when demands of adults increase, we need to be offered more evidences to fully evaluate the argument.

To begin with, the first piece of information we need is that whether we can safety reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decades. The author only provides last year's birthrate, which might be atypical. To strengthen the argument, he should provide more detailed information about birthrate over the past decades. In addition, if birthrate of five years ago is extremely high, then one-half of that might still be pretty high, thereby curtailing government's determination to reduce budget. Furthermore, the author fails to take operation costs into consideration. As we know, both societies and individuals nowadays emphasize much on education. Therefore, we might need to devote more into education instead of less. both material costs and labor costs might enhance significantly in the next decades. For example, multi-media equipment could cost more in order to improve teaching quality or teachers desire higher wages to teach well. even though number of students would decrease, financial support from government should not be reduced due to increasing education costs.

Moreover, the recommendation to reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities is not grounded. The author unfairly assumes that they are only utilized by kids. however, this assumption might turn out to be false. Insteadn, adults could have do exercise on those. if adults found too expensive to go to the gyms but those athletic playing fields are free to public, then they might do sports on these fields. One negative impact of doing so would be reduced individual average physical activities. when government reduces funding for those places, most citizens found no areas to exercise, so that exercise less frequently. As a result, health issues would rise dramatically.

last but not least, the statement that adult population of city would increase and need more meny to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults is problematic. The author fails to provide justified reason behind increasing adult population. Why adult population would increase instead of keeping stable? even if adult population indeed increases, are current fund city facilities and programs able to support more people? if current facilities are old and limited, then increasing number of adults might cause burden on them and so it would be reasonable to support the facilities. however, on the other hand, if people use those facilities infrequently because of busy work schedule, then further financial support might not be necessary. Also, whether government would have "sufficient" money to fund programs for adults remains questionable. Guaranteed that government reduce budget for programs previously targeted to students, is money enough? In all likelihood, government is running deficit, so that it can only give small amount of money for public programs, while adults programs require relatively considerable support, then money might not be sufficient.

To sum up, as it stands, the argument is based on incomplete evidences. To further strengthen the argument, the author ought to add the evidences as follows: first, whether the number of students would decline and whether reduced budget on education is valid; second, whether government can reduce funding for athletic fields; last, whether adult population is growing in the city and whether it is sufficient and necessary to support programs used primarily by adults.