Several years ago Groveton College adopted an honor code which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated Groveton s honor code replaced a system in which te

The author of the passage recommends that, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's school to reduce cheating in examinations. This suggestion is based on the observation that Groveton's school has less number of cases in some years after implementing the honor code and based on a survey conducted with students. However, before evaluating this argument completely, following three questions must be answered.

To begin, did Groveton's school had equal no of students in the years before and after implementing the honor code? It is possible that Before implementing the honor code the school had had thousand students but the very next year of honor code implementation, number of students that attended the school had dropped to five hundred. In that case, the decrease in no of cheating cases should not be attributed to the newly implemented honor code. In such scenario, author would benefit from calculating the percentage of cheating cases rather than absolute numbers.

Secondly, even if relatively same number of students attended the school every year, was the drop in no of cheating cases persistent across all 5 years? Author mentions that there was decrease in number of cases after the first year and fifth year of implementation. However, this doesn't guarantee the drop in cheating cases in all 5 years. It is possible that, these decline in first and fifth year is just accidental and cheating cases have increased in other years after implementation. author would be benefitted if he considers average no of cases per year after implementing the honor code to support his argument.

Further, how reliable was the survey conducted? It's possible that, survey was taken by students intended to cheat in exam and thus, they intentionally commented in support of the honor code. when group of students in an examination hall intend to copy, with honor code implementation, since there won't be a teacher to examine, they will have better chance to copy. Even if survey was taken by all the sincere student's, what questions were asked in survey ? It's possible that survey has asked is it better to have honor code or no rules at all. In that case sincere students might have considered honor code better than not having any rule at all. If any of the above is true, author's argument doesn't hold water.

in conclusion, author's argument as it stands now, is full of unwarranted assumptions. He has to answer above mentioned questions to further evaluate this argument.