1 Pool of Argument Essays Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean peop

Author of the argues that palean style baskets were not just made in Palea. He concludes this argument on recent archiological evidence that similar woven baskets were found in Lithos. However the authors argument is based on several unwarranted assumption and following evidence needed to evaluate his argument better.

Firstly, the author assumes that river was broad and full of water as it is today in prehistoric days as well. It's possible that, river was dry for few decades before it flourished again. As evidenced by history, many rivers across globe(Like river brahmaputra in India) have shown these behavor. perhaps river was dry for decades because of a drought hit situaton which made tranportation between Lithos and Palea Possible. Author has to provide evidence to prove that this river was never dry in history to support his claims.

Further, even if river existed throughout the history, author argues that no boats were found that would have been used for river transportation. However, finding the previously existed pre historic boats might not be a single day job. Author doesn't clarify if not finding the boats mean that they didn't exist at all. He doesn't provide any evidence which supports that search for boats were made for all possible locations and yet couldn't find there existential proofs. So unless author substantiate for any such thorough search made for existence of river based transport mechanism, it seriously weakens his argument.

In addition to this, it's possible that there were other roots to reach Lithos. Author doesn't consider the possibility that these woven baskets were made in palean but have been bought by the locals in Lithos and were transported to Lithos via these other possible road based transport. Author has to provide evidence about any other connecting feasible transport system that existed between Palea and lithos, If such road, if exists will further weakens the authors argument.

In conclusion, Authors argument of Palean style woven baskets are not just made in palea is based on several unwarranted assumptions. Authors has to provide evidence regarding the, history of rivers dryness, research done to find boat usage in past and other transport roads that could connect Lithos and Palea to further evluate the argument.