The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of a television station is planning to increase the time allotted for local news and weather forecast. He argues that, devoting more time to local news and weather would put a stop on loosing advertising revenues and as well increase the viewership for programs. To evaluate such bold argument, few of the author's assumptions should be supported with below requested evidences.

Firstly, author talks about viewers complaint about local news and weather coverage. however he doesn't talk about the details of the viewers complaint if they were related to time length of the programs in specific. If complaints were about not giving a detailed report on local news and weather , perhaps it would lead to better viewer satisfaction. However these complaints could also be on the quality of content it self. For instance, this TV channel might have published wrong temperature details that users might be complaining about. Or someday local news reported turns out to be a false news. SO to understand better if increasing local news and weather time length would lead to increased user satisfaction author has to provide more specific details from viewer complaints.

Further, manager implies that, reduced time length for locals and weather has lead to cancellation of local business contracts. However, he doesn't provide any evidence if this is indeed true. Advertisement contract cancellation could have been happened because of various reasons. For instance, may be economy of the region is not doing so well as it was doing in previous year and that would have lead to decreased business and in turn less budget on advertisement. May be advertising firms have realized that, they have spent way too much for publicity during last year and might have corrected it this year. In that case managers argument turns out to be irrelevant to increase sustain advertising revenue. Author has to provide the details of reason of contract cancellation to better evaluate if local news and weather duration has indeed affected it.

In conclusion, the manager has made a few bold assumption while arguing that increased time length for local news and weather will increase viewership and sustain advertisement revenue. He has to provide above mentioned evidence to further evaluate if his plan will indeed work out.