The effectiveness of a country s leaders is best measured by examining the well being of that country s citizens Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be

It's true that a country's leader's effectiveness can be measured by well being of it's citizens in some cases. However, there are certain cases were this is not the right way to judge a leader.

In an underdeveloped country, even the most effective leader might not be able to lift the lives of the citizens to ultimate well being that can be seen in other already developed countries. Consider an under developed nation hit by a malady. The most effective leader of this country might try to uplift the lives of it's citizens by improving healthcare of nation. He might succeed in saving many lives but some could still die because of inherent health care limitations country had before this leader assumed power. Also, he might attempt to lift the country's economy by trying to industrialize it, fighting against internal corruption and many other social reforms. This might help him to uplift county to some extent. But even then, the nation might not reach ultimate well being because of the preexisted issues from ling time. Even though this leader has improved the quality of life, the country is yet to reach the apotheosis of it's development. In these scenarios effectiveness of the leader should be measured by relative improvement that happened in the nation and not merely on country's citizens ultimate well being.

Even in a developed country, if a leader focuses only on current well being of it's citizens, it's not good enough. For example, if a country's leader is effective in all the internal affairs but have not maintained good international relations. Maybe an oil producing countries leader refuse to provide oil to other nations and thus made this nation a 'villain' in the eyes of rest of the world. This may not have immediate consequences, but in future this might affect the well being of the citizens. Thus, a leader, apart from current well being of citizens, should also focus on nation's future too.

With all the limitations of measuring effectiveness of a leader by countries citizens well-being, one must admit that it's one of the main parameter to judge a leader. Citizens will lead a prosperous life in someones tenure as country's leader only if the leader is effective. A good leader identifies the problems in the society, listen to people's demands and effectively works to resolve the issues which leads to ultimate well being of the citizens.

In conclusion, a leader's effectiveness can not just be measured by well-being of country's citizens. One must consider the future implications and past status of the nation to better judge a leader.