The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette On Balmer Island where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation the population increases to 100 000 during the summer months To reduce the number of accidents involving

In a letter written to Balmer Island Gazette, author of the letter predicts that reducing number of mopeds per rental company will reduce the accidents percentage in Balmer. Author argues for this prediction based on accident reduction in Torseau by enforcing a similar law. however, this authors argument leads to following 3 questions that needs to be answered before evaluating his prediction.

Firstly, Does increase in population means increasing number of pedistians or number of people interested to travel? It's possible that increase in population might be because of oldage people admitted to a famous hospital in balmer. In such case, increase in population will not imply more possibility of accident if these oldage citizens were bed ridden througout there stay in balemer. It's also possible that this new population is new birn babies, May be summer is the best time to deliver babies in balmer. These babies will not contribute to accidents in that summer as they will not start walking on the day one. So the author of the letter should answer about what constituted this icnreased population.

Secondly, are Balmer and Torseau comparable ? Maybe the trasport infrastucutre in Torseau can sustain limited number of mopeds and Balmer might have roads that can sustain a large numbe rof mopeds. It's possible that, Toresu's over population is less and they don't need as many mopeds as Balmer. Applying a restriction on mopeds in Balemr which might have a larger population might lead to increased pedestrians. This may in turn increase number of accidents. Thus author of the letter has to asnwer if Balmer and Torseau are comparable.

Tharidly, will decrease in number of rented mopeds per company lead to over all decrease in number of mopeds? It's possible that this restriction might lead to more companies getting opened with a limit of 30 mopeds per day. this will not lead to reduction in number of mopeds.

in conclusion, authors prediction of reducing no of accidents by restricting no of mopeds per company is based on several assumptions. author has to answer about the similarity between Balmer and Torseau, type of population that increased and restriction on total count of companies to further evaluate this prediction.