The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter written to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette suggests that 50% annual reduction in moped accidents can be achieved if the Balmer island limits the number of mopeds that can be rented per day during the summer season. Letter asserts that during the summer island sees an uptick of at most 100,000 tourists thus reducing the mopeds hired on rent can alleviate the accidents involving pedestrian and mopeds.Additionally, it states that a nearby island implemented similar provision and they saw a decrease in annual traffic accidents involving mopeds and street walkers. However, before the argument asserted in the letter can be properly analysed, answers to two question are required.

Firstly, are the island of Seaville and island of Balmer comparable in every aspect? The letter doesn’t clarify the state of other island and it can be the case the situation and aura of both the island is quite different and because of that its probable that the provisions taken of there to reduce the accidents might not be helpful in Balmer Island. Perhaps, the Island of Seaville is barren and very few people live there, and even fewer tourist visit to that island, thus it was feasible for the administration to restrict the number of mopeds rental without causing chaos by shortage of vehicles. Moreover, It may be the case that the annual 50% reduction in traffic in Island looks huge just in percentage term and due to the trifling number of visitors earlier the number that used to be 2 accidents involving per year has shrunk to 1 accident per year. Therefore, may be the copious reduction seen in the Seaville wont happen in the Balmer Island. If any of the above scenarios is true then the position stated in the letter doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, is reducing the number of vehicles during summer sufficient to cause annual reduction in accidents? As it is not clear in the letter that whether the accident involving mopeds and street walkers happen at other time of the year as well therefore it cannot be assumed that just by reduction of number of mopeds during summer would bring the accident percentage when whole year is considered. For instance it can be the case that throughout the year the accidents occurring on the streets more or less remain the same, and the reason that it seems that it is due to increase in tourist is because more number of people are on the roads for business during flourishing season and thus making accidents visible to more number of people. Additionally, it might be that the due to rental limit more people start rental business and overall reduction in the number of mopeds on the road doesn’t happen at all. If anyone of the above evidence comes true than the argument made in the letter is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, argument made in the letter, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author of the letter provides answers to the questions asked above and a exhaustive study is done to analyse the answers given by the author , then the validity of the argument can be properly assessed.