Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument proposes that we should build one store in Plainsville. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, the report from Plainsville merchants indicates high sales of running shoes and exercise equipment; second, the local health club are full of members and weight-training classes are always full; finally, schoolchildren have to participate in Fitness for Life program, who are likely to become new generation of customers. Though the issue has its own merit, due to lack of persuasive evidences and unaddressed assumption, the conclusion is flawed and unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that huge sale of running shoes and exercise equipment are related to leading health lives. What if citizens just bought those things, but never used them? It is likely that some kinds of running shoes are trendy and fashion, so that most people purchase them because of the beauty and popularity, instead of utilizing for running. Without the detailed information of people's exercising reports, such as statistics regarding with weekly running hour, we are unable to draw any connection between healthy lifestyles of the quantities of sports equipment sold.

Furthermore, the author suggests that local health club attracts more members than ever. The assumption may seem valid at first glance, after further examination, it is fallacious. It is plausible there are only a few active members, although the total amount of members is large. The membership does not necessarily mean that individual would attend the physically related events in the club. Some might just register the member for fun. There is only one club provided, so that the sample size is too small. The condition of this health club probably not a good representative of all health clubs in Plainsville. If this club has the greatest members, whereas other clubs are nearly one participating, then public's interest in health club is exaggerated. The fact that weight-training and aerobics classes are always full, in addition, does not justify the emphasis on health. The author fails to provide the number of students in every course. What if the class sizes are small, like only 10 people every time? What if most students are from neighboring cities instead local residents from Plainsville? The enhancing focus on healthy lives might be ungrounded.

Moreover, it is questionable to predict the future trend based on the current situation. Although it is true that schoolchildren are taught the significance of regular exercise at early ages, this does not mean it would persistently keep exercising habits. Development in society is rapid and we never know what will happen in the future. If government of Plainsville, after five years, starts to pay attention to economics growth and emphasize the output of the whole community. People at that times perhaps need to spend most of time on work and too busy to exercise frequently. The new store, therefore, are unlikely to be profitable during that time.

Last but not least, the author fails to balance the cost and benefit of opening a new store in Plainsville. If sports market in Plainsville is already very competitive, even though there are many potential consumers, there is no guarantee that people would consume in this new store. Add, people might already had enough resources, including sports shoes, equipment and knowledge and so on to earn a health lives, so that the spending on this part can be reduced. The new store in Plainsville is unlikely to create large profit. The author also fails to consider the cost of opening the new store, including rent, training of new employees and advertisement. Without sophisticated planning, it is problematic to draw the conclusion too readily.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion made by the author is based on several unjustified assumptions. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is suggested to provide the evidences as follows: first, the main purpose of citizens buying sports shoes and equipment is for exercising; second, new generations are still interested in healthy lives; third, it is out of interest and aiming at healthier lives that people become member in health club and take course.