The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie

Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The extent to which rialto movie theater should make changes has been complicated in its implication. The manager of the rialto movie theater suggests that it must make big changes or close its doors forever. In addition, if the rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as apex. To buttress his argument, the author cites the features of apex and results from survey. Although following the way in which apex did might be beneficial to attract moviegoers, we need more evidences and know the answers to several questions to evaluate whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.

To begin with, the author needs to answer the question that whether apex theater and rialto are comparable. In this business plan, it is indicated that rialto is located at downtown while apex theater is in the all outside of town. if citizens find downtown usually crowded and prefer watching a movie with shopping together, then it might not be approprite to simply copy the mode from apex. Furthermore, we should be offered more detailed information about two theaters, such as services, environment, media qualities and so on. Since apex just opened last year, many people might visit it out of curiosity or interest instead of other factors which ensure their frequent visit. Unless apex and rialto are comparable in almost all aspects, it would be meaningless to draw experience from apex. The author also fails to answer questions about the number of moviegoers of apex. if not many individuals visit apex, we cannot consider features in apex are distinguished and admirable, thereby making it groundless for rialto to make changes.

Moreover, another question requires answer is the validity of survey results. how many people participated in the survey? how the survey conducted and how the quetions formulated? if the sample size is too small, 85 percentage perhaps does not have significant meanings. In all likelihood, if the movie prices are affordable and reasonable for workers but not students, while most respondants are students, then the survey result would be problematic. Even though high price could be a justified reason to prevent people from going to movie theater, is it the major reason? how about other potential reasons? it is plausible that factors such as other recreational activities and extended work or study time would also impact people's behaviors greatly.

last but not least, the author unfairly suggest that to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as apex. As mentioned above, if the high price is the major drag on low attendance, lowering price or providing discount may be a more feasible way. When people are no longer pay much interest or stress on watching movie and would like to play video games, changing features is bootless. The author should also answer the question with regards to whether it is financially and technologically feasible to make changes. we know that plush carpeting and seats and a state-of-the-art sound system is not cheap. Therefore, it would not be a wise idea if the cost outweigh potential benefit much. There might be other better or relatively inexpensive approaches to achieve the expected results, such as giving rewards card, holding movie-related activities and so forth.

To sum up, as it stands, the recommendation is based on considerable unaddressed questions. To better decide whether the rialto movie theater would accomplish the expected result, the manager ought to answer the questions as follows: first, whether apex and rialto movie theater are comparable and whether rialto succeeded in doing so; second, whether survey result can provide convincing support to this suggestion; finally, whether offering the same feature as apex is the "must do" event.