The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is usually made or broke by the public perception of how the leader is. They must be able to make tough decisions to give a direction to those they lead. That said, they also need to know the opinions of those they are supposed to make decisions for.

The most basic outlook of a leader is usually seen in politicians. They are the ones who are supposed to work for the welfare of people. Naturally, this should come out as no surprise that popular leaders are those who puts general ideas of public in their manifesto and act on that. So, it becomes a fundamental nature in politics to ask for feedback from people for which they are assigned for.

Even if most adults have not encounter politicians themselves, they do encounter leaders in their offices. Even in offices, the above perception holds true. The most popular leaders are the ones who bring out the idea of their underlings by constantly asking for their opinion. This not only helps in providing more ideas to the company, but it also helps eliminate some redundant ideas that might not seems profitable to the company in the long run. If the public perception of a leader in corporate world is not good, they are either banished from the role or evicted from the company.

There are some caveats in getting feedback though. The feedback from public is usually not unanimous. It is very divided in opinion, usually driven by personal gains in the long run. This sometimes encourages sycophant decisions for a targeted audience in the long run. And it is true in any field, even in the politics and the corporate world as mentioned above.

It can be easily said that the great leaders are usually are the ones who value and encourage the public feedback. But, the best leaders are the ones who tend to take hard decision and those decisions which are beneficial for general public in the long run, and not for a group of people.