Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated.

What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

In order for an organisation to work efficiently and provide suitable results, they need to know their areas of improvement. So, it has become quite necessary for an organisation to evaluate each and every aspect of it, whether it be human or non-human aspect. But there is a sense of aversion towards these feedbacks and evaluation. Let's take a look at some of the reasons behind it.

In most of the organisation, the evaluation metrics does not take into consideration the restrictions placed by it on the person. Consider the instance of an employee in the lowermost layer in the company. The company has placed overarching restictions on his workflow and is allowed to do mundane tasks a certain way. Now, if you evaluate this employee on the parameter of creativity, he will be on the lower spectrum. And that is as unfair as evaluating how much fast can a tortoise go on the land.

And coming on to the parameters, the feedback and evaluations still uses some of the outdated or plagarised parameters to evaluate an employee. Consider that a form is released by several colleges to collect feedback about classes from their students. There is a highly likely chance that these universities will have almost the same questions, or maybe even the same form with different headers.

And lastly, in an organisation, there is a highly likely chance that these feedback forms will be full of personal bias. Consider an earnest employee in an organisation who is praised by most of the people. There is a likely chance that some of the people dislike that person due to jealousy. Now, if they are asked their feedback about that person, they are likely to inundate it with a negative response rather than a neutral or a positive one.

Above reasons are likely root causes of people's aversion towards feedback and evaluation. In order to curb this problem, the organisation need to make sure to update the parameters of a feedback so that it can keep up with their culture. Also, they need to keep in mind the bounds placed of a person. Finally, it must be made sure that each and every feedback must be free from personal bias.